The European Corporate Governance Institute
This is the ECGI archive site which is no longer being updated.
Please visit for all current material.
Contact details and online feedbackSearch the site or the webAccess to Members' areaNavigate your way around the siteDisclaimer noticeHow to get the most out of this site
click menu to expand
Prints this page on a local printer

ECGI Clinical Paper Competition

2004 Competition winners announced

The winners of the 2004 ECGI Clinical paper Competition were announced at a ceremony in Stockholm on 9 December 2004. Click here for details.

The ECGI has established a Clinical Paper competition to encourage the writing and publication of empirical research papers on corporate governance cases in Europe. The competition is organised in collaboration with the Journal of Financial Economics (JFE), the Swedish Center for Business and Policy Studies (SNS) with financial support from the Jan Wallander and Tom Hedelius Research Foundation.
Three members of the 2004 Clinical paper Competition jury (from l to r) Professor Erik Berglöf ,  Professor Steven Kaplan  and Professor Claudio Loderer In the 2004 Clinical Paper Competition, six papers were selected from a strong field by the Scientific Committee, to go forward to second stage of the Competition, a prize award ceremony in Stockholm on Thursday, 9 December.

The authors presented their papers in front of a jury comprising Professor Erik Berglöf (Stockholm School of Economics), Professor Claudio Loderer (Universität Bern), Professor Luigi Zingales (University of Chicago), Professor Steven Kaplan (University of Chicago) and Professor Hans Tson Söderström (Stockholm School of Economics and SNS).

They were subsequently invited to attend the Nobel Prize award ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall on Friday 10 December. These papers have all now been published in ECGI's Finance Working Paper series.

Minority Shareholder Expropriation and Asymmetric Information Flows in a Global Registered Share: The Saga of DaimlerChrysler by Frederick H. deB. Harris and Sherry L. Jarrell, Wake Forest University, Thomas H. McInish and Robert A. Wood, University of Memphis. See Working Paper 60/2004
Czech Mate: Expropriation and Investor Protection in a Converging World by Mihir A. Desai, Harvard University and NBER and Alberto Moel, Monitor Corporate Finance, Monitor Group. See Working Paper 62/2004
How Preussag became TUI: Kissing too many toads can make you a toad by Ingolf Dittmann, Ernst Maug and Christoph Schneider, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. See Working Paper 58/2004
Management Turnover in Stock Market Winners and Losers: A Clinical Investigation by Gishan Dissanaike and Armen V. Papazian, Judge Institute of Management, University of Cambridge. See Working Paper 61/2004
Ownership: Evolution and Regulation by Julian Franks, London Business School, Colin Mayer, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford and Stefano Rossi, London Business School. See Working Paper 9/2003 (Revised December 2004)
Legal Systems, Ownership Concentration, and Corporate Governance at Sellier and Bellot by Tomas Jandik and Craig G. Rennie, University of Arkansas. See Working Paper 59/2004

The three best papers receive money prizes of €4000, €2000 and €1000 respectively and will be submitted to JFE, free of charge.

For further details, see:

Background to the Competition and ground rules
Background information on co-organisers and sponsor
Administrative details and additional information