The European Corporate Governance Institute
Contact details and online feedbackSearch the site or the webAccess to Members' areaNavigate your way around the siteDisclaimer noticeHow to get the most out of this site
click menu to expand
Prints this page on a local printer

Brussels, 12 June 2012. At a Board Meeting of the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) today, Eddy Wymeersch tendered his resignation in order to devote more time to his other extensive commitments.  This created a vacancy as Chairman and the Board unanimously nominated Jörgen Holmquist, former Director General for the Single Market and Financial Markets in the European Commission and a former Budget Director in the Swedish Ministry of Finance, to serve as Chairman of the ECGI with immediate effect.

At the same meeting, on the recommendation of the ECGI’s Nominations Committee, the Board co-opted Lisa Rabbe, Managing Director, Head of Public Policy – EMEA, Credit Suisse Securities (Europe) Limited, and Daniela Weber-Rey, a Partner in the Frankfurt office of Clifford Chance, to the Board.  Their appointments are subject to ratification at the ECGI’s next General Assembly which will take place in the spring of 2013.

Following these changes, the ECGI Board now comprises 11 Directors, the maximum number allowed under its Articles of Association. Furthermore, a majority (6) of its members qualify as academic or research members, as required under the Articles.

As Director General for the Single Market and Financial Markets in the European Commission, Jörgen Holmquist was responsible in 2007-2010 for developing the European Union's (EU) regulatory response to the financial crisis. This included preparation of the EU Roadmaps and Legislative program to deal with the financial crisis and specifically the restructuring of the regulatory/supervisory system, new legislation concerning bank capital, derivatives, credit-rating agencies, investment funds and many other related areas.
He was a member of the EU Economic and Financial Committee and chaired the European Corporate Governance Forum. He represented the European Commission in the Financial Stability Board (FSB) and in bilateral contacts with the US, Brazil, China, India, Japan and Russia. During this period he was also responsible for the EU Single Market, particularly the free movement of services, capital and labour.
Lisa Rabbe joined Credit Suisse in August 2010. Her areas of policy expertise include wholesale capital markets regulatory issues, EU competition policy, international investment and trade restrictions, corporate governance, and EU energy and environmental issues. Prior to joining Credit Suisse, she worked at Goldman Sachs International, where she was a Managing Director and Head of Government Affairs in the EMEA region. She began her career at Sullivan & Cromwell in the Corporate Finance practice.
Daniela Weber-Rey has been a Partner in the Frankfurt office of Clifford Chance since 1989 and a member of the Partnership Council since May 2010. She was admitted to the German bar in 1984. She gained an LL.M. at Columbia University in 1985 and has been an Attorney-at-Law (New York) since 1986. In May 2008 she became a member of the administrative board of BNP Paribas. She has been a member of the Government Commission "German Corporate Governance Code" since July 2008.
Since March 2011, she has been a member of the insurance and reinsurance stakeholder group at the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA).
Professor Guido Ferrarini, ECGI Vice Chairman, said “The Board is very grateful to Mr Wymeersch for his leadership in chairing the ECGI over the last two years and for his generous support as a speaker at many of our international conferences.

“Our new Chairman, Jörgen Holmquist, has unparalleled experience at the centre of European policy formation and corporate governance and we are delighted that he has undertaken to represent and promote our Institute and to take over the role of chairman of the ECGI at this stage in its development.

“We welcome our two new Board members, both of whom have far-reaching experience in the European and international corporate governance arena.  We greatly look forward to their contributions to the Institute.”

The ECGI, which was founded in 2002, is an international scientific non-profit association. It provides a forum for debate and dialogue between academics, legislators and practitioners, fostering research on major corporate governance issues and thereby promoting best practice. Among its foremost activities are the Transatlantic Corporate Governance Dialogue, now in its ninth year, which was established to bring together leading academics from law, economics and finance, regulators, judges, law makers, corporate leaders, investors and other corporate constituencies to engage in forward-looking discussions of corporate governance issues that are or will be at the forefront of policymaking on both sides of the Atlantic, and the more recent EU Asia Corporate Dialogue, a parallel activity which holds its first major conference in Tokyo in July 2012.

- ENDS -

Click or to download a copy of this release

For further information:
Professor Guido Ferrarini, ECGI Vice Chairman
Jeremy Miller, ECGI Marketing & Communications

Notes for Editors:

1. The full composition of the ECGI Board is at:

2. See biography of the new Chairman at:

3. See biographies of the two new Board members at:

4. See the ECGI website for the remit and composition of the ECGI’s Nominations Committee at: